Jenna Helder

HIST 4170, Fourth Year History Major

Project Update

Last Tuesday we had many presentations discussing the projects that classmates are endeavoring to complete for the end of the semester. I enjoyed the diversity that the class has adopted, as projects ranged from databases to websites, and everything in between. I thought it was particularly admirable that everyone stayed true to finding something they were genuinely interested in and followed it through to something they can actively learn while creating.

I have been learning while working this last week, researching like crazy about the Battle of Hastings. I have been working on paring down what to contextualize versus what to include links for pertaining to further understanding. I have also been working with my editing program related to another class, which I have another video to create for the next couple of weeks.

I am particularly interested in the sound effects that final cut pro has, and utilizing them to their full potential within my videos. I find that I have to sacrifice perfect lighting and animations in order to have time to get everything done, and so time management is becoming my new enemy. Between all of the rest of my classes I have a lot of work to get done in a very short time, so scheduling is increasingly important, even if I only work on this project for 5 minutes a day, at least something is getting done. I find with editing, 5 minutes easily turns into 20, as I am so interested in the process and rather picky about the final effect.

Between my homework and work schedule I think it is fair to assume I can have my first video done in the next 2 weeks, and regular tweets accompanying the youtube channel. I have started my twitter feed, and have been rather unscheduled in my attempts to keep it going, but will be improving that by hopefully utilizing an automatic scheduler that we have discussed in former classes.

I will also update this blog tomorrow after class, as I have begun to lag in my blogging habits and need to incorporate some of my aforementioned scheduling to include writing time too.

Until tomorrow!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment

Modern Farm Wife

A city girl learning to live the life of a modern farm wife

sarcasmsoapbox

Serving you sarcasm

vfecteau

HIST 4170 blog for Vince Fecteau

Anje's HIST*4170 Blog

HIST 4170, Fourth Year History Major

Culture in a city

The virtual museum of Toronto's arts and culture

Nate's HIST*4170 Blog

Blogging about the topics of HIST*4170

brendenspringer

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Vanessa's HIST 4170 Blog

HIST 4170, Fourth Year History Major

courtneyfinamore

My (WE)BLOG for HIST4170, University of Guelph, ON

Steve Boyles Digital Humanities Blog

Commentary on the topics of Hist4170 - Digital Humanities

aroibas

This blog will present my writing in a newly discovered digital format

HumanitiesDigitalThisIs

HIST 4170, Fourth Year History Major

KimE's Digital Humanities Blog

HIST 4170, Fourth Year History Major

Unbetitelt

HIST 4170, Fourth Year History Major

hist4170

Course Blog for HIST*4170 Exploring Digital Humanities, University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada (Winter 2014 semester)